Keep Holding On…?

This morning…a friend of mine asked me to listen to this song…Keep Holding On by Avril… So I’ve been listening to this song countless time up to now and still don’t get what does it mean.

I’ve been reading the lyric on and on…but still I don’t get clearly a thing…only one part that have an explicit meaning. I am too afraid to interpret it as I read and as I understand. Is it any deeper meaning or just simply what the lyric says?

Anybody out there…if a friend ask me to listen to this, what does it mean?…somebody or “sumbody”…anybody tell me….!!!

I will keep holding on…if you asked me to…

You’re not alone
Together we stand
I’ll be by your side, you know I’ll take your hand
When it gets cold
And it feels like the end
There’s no place to go
You know I won’t give in
No I won’t give in

Keep holding on
‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through
Just stay strong
‘Cause you know I’m here for you, I’m here for you
There’s nothing you could say
Nothing you could do
There’s no other way when it comes to the truth
So keep holding on
‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through

So far away
I wish you were here
Before it’s too late, this could all disappear
Before the doors close
And it comes to an end
With you by my side I will fight and defend
I’ll fight and defend

Yeah, yeah

Keep holding on
‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through
Just stay strong
‘Cause you know I’m here for you, I’m here for you
There’s nothing you could say
[Keep Holding On lyrics on http://www.metrolyrics.com%5D

Nothing you could do
There’s no other way when it comes to the truth
So keep holding on
‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through

Hear me when I say, when I say I believe
Nothing’s gonna change, nothing’s gonna change destiny
Whatever’s meant to be will work out perfectly
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

La da da da
La da da da
La da da da da da da da da

Keep holding on
‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through
Just stay strong
‘Cause you know I’m here for you, I’m here for you
There’s nothing you could say
Nothing you could do
There’s no other way when it comes to the truth
So keep holding on
‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through

Keep holding on
Keep holding on

There’s nothing you could say
Nothing you could do
There’s no other way when it comes to the truth
So keep holding on
‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through

10 responses to “Keep Holding On…?

  • lynnx01

    As for me, I take little notice on the lyrics. I only listen to songs.

  • MissiRina

    Well, for me, this song is about a friend (or ‘someone’) telling his/her friend that he/she is not alone. That through all the trials and tribulations in his/her life, there will always be someone by their side. =)

    Btw, this song is the theme song from the movie Eragon. =) Have you seen it? Coz in the movie, the context is about protecting/supprting someone who is about to do something drastic. 😉

  • Laura

    You should listen to Chris Perez – Best I Can. Hahaha..definitely u will understand the song lyric. 😀

  • Aisyah

    haha. I couldnt care more to learn deepeer about the lyrics. as long as the song is good, it’s fine. and that I could understand the lyric generally. hehe.

  • sumbudy

    well, well…
    actually i dun quite understand the song too
    but of coz, the obvious meaning is :
    keep holding on, coz i wil support u no matter what.
    but if there’s any hidden meaning, u’ve got to ask avril, which is impossible, so y not ask the person who asked u to listen to the song.
    he/she has the answer (should be).

  • lester michael

    It is necessary for us to know what the real meaning of a song? Why dont we just enjoy the song(s) as long as it has catchy rythms and keeps playing on our mind. yup I think this should be fine. But if u r more like an artistic guy, go ahead and decipher the lyrics. Ha HA

  • Lynnwei

    erm…what are you trying to hold on too?

    sometimes, it might be better to learn to let go! hahaha…

    =)

  • airilines

    What are you waiting for?

    just press “F” or “Page Down”

    i will help you to jump from the barrier

  • keeyit

    If really a nice song then i will get the lyrics

  • LEA85

    i dotn really like avrils songs after the second album, and i dont think the kyrics are that hard to understand, the title says it all rite? 😛

Leave a Reply

